How to Bypass Recycle Bin When Deleting Files in Windows 10

In Windows 10, whenever you delete a file or folders, it gets stored in the Recycle Bin. So, if you have accidentally deleted the file and want to restore it, you can easily do so from the Recycle Bin.

In Windows 10, whenever you delete a file or folders, it gets stored in the Recycle Bin. So, if you have accidentally deleted the file and want to restore it, you can easily do so from the Recycle Bin.

But the downside is that when you delete the file, the storage space on your drive remains the same. So, you will need to delete the file from the Recycle Bin as well to free up the space.

Let’s explore how to bypass the Recycle Bin using two methods when deleting files and folders in Windows 10.

Dilbert and Weakness
Copyright Scott Adams, Inc./Distributed by Universal Uclick for UFS

This is for the Windows 10 operating system

Check out TechSavvy.Life for their blog posts on smartphone apps, PCs. and Macs!

Method One – Delete Immediately

First, select the file or folders in File Explorer. Next, press the Shift+Delete keys to delete immediately.

Also, you can also right-click on a file or folder and click on the Delete option from the context menu, while pressing the Shift key. Refer to below image;

Bypass Recycle Bin 1
Using the context menu Delete option

Windows will ask you if you want to permanently delete the file. Just press Enter or click Yes to confirm. See below image:

Bypass Recycle Bin 2
Confirmation message to delete

The file or folders are immediately gone. They cannot be recovered except through special software or highly technical recovery methods.

Method Two – Skip Recycle Bin

You can tell Windows to stop using the Recycle Bin altogether.

First, right-click on the Recycle Bin icon (usually located on the desktop). Next, select Properties. Refer to below image:

Bypass Recycle Bin 3
Accedssing the Recycle Bin Properties

In the Properties window, enable the option that says Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin.

Note that you will have to make changes to the settings for each drive for which you need to directly delete files. For instance, if your computer has three drives — C, D, and E and you want the new settings for all three, you need to apply the settings for all three drives by selecting them before enabling the option.

Now, click OK to save your settings. See below image:

Bypass Recycle Bin 4
Enabling Don’t Move Files to the Recycle Bin option

Now whenever you delete the files from your computer, they won’t be moved to Recycle Bin. Instead, all the files and folders that you delete will be automatically removed from the computer and you cannot restore them except as mentioned above.

So, it is a good idea to have the option Display delete confirmation dialog enabled. When enabled, you will be asked to confirm your choice every time you delete files or folders. See following image:

Bypass Recycle Bin 5
Enabling a Confirmation Dialog message before deleting

I have found TechSavvy.Life blog posts extremely helpful. Check them out for posts on smart phone apps, Macs and PCs!

I Would Like to Hear From You

Please feel free to leave a comment. I would love hearing from you. Do you have a computer or smart device tech question? I will do my best to answer your inquiry. Please mention the device, app and version that you are using. To help us out, you can send screenshots of your data related to your question.

The author’s Vietnam eBook on the Battle for Tra Bong: Events and Aftermath