How to See Which Apps Can View Your iPhone Photos

Over time it can be easy to forget all the different apps you have allowed to have read/write access to the Photos app on iPhone.

Over time it can be easy to forget all the different apps you have allowed to have read/write access to the Photos app on iPhone.

Your photos include not only visual information but also metadata that might reveal your location or when the photo was taken, among other information..

Whether you are doing some regular maintenance or want to check on a specific app, let’s explore how to see which apps have access to your photos and even revoke access.

This is for the iPhone

Dilbert and Customers
Copyright Scott Adams, Inc./Distributed by Universal Uclick for UFS

First, open Settings (the gear icon) on your iPhone. Refer to below image:

Photos 1
Accessing Settings

Next, scroll down and tap the Privacy option. See below image:

Photos 2
Accessing the Privacy option

Now, tap the Photos option. See following image:

Photos 3
Accessing the Photos option

Here, you will see a list of installed apps that have requested access to your photos. Beside each one is a status that shows one of three options. Here is their meaning:

  • Selected Photos: The app can access only a set of photos that you manually select.
  • All Photos: The app can access all photos on your device.
  • None: The app cannot access any of your photos.

To change these settings, tap an app name in the list. Refer to below image:

Photos 4
Accessing an app

On the details screen for the app, you can change whether or not the particular app you selected can access your photos. See below image:

Photos 5
Enabling the None option for the selected app

Alternately, you can choose Selected Photos and a pop-up that browses your photo library will appear. See following image:

Photos 6
Your photos. Select which one(s) you want Photos access

Tap any photos you would like the app to access, then tap Done. Any photos you do not select will be unavailable to the app.

Now, tap Photos in the corner to go back one screen, then exit Settings. The change will take effect immediately. If you ever need to change the setting again, just revisit the above steps.

That’s it. Please feel free to share this post! One way to share is via Twitter.

Just click the Tweet icon below. This will launch Twitter where you click its icon to post the Tweet.

Check out TechSavvy.Life for blog posts on smartphones, PCs, and Macs! You may email us at contact@techsavvy.life for comments or questions.

I Would Like to Hear From You

Please feel free to leave a comment. I would love hearing from you. Do you have a computer or smart device tech question? I will do my best to answer your inquiry. Just send an email to contact@techsavvy.life. Please mention the device, app and version that you are using. To help us out, you can send screenshots of your data related to your question.

The author’s Vietnam eBook on the Battle for Tra Bong: Events and Aftermath
%d bloggers like this: