How to Make Messages Disappear in Messenger

Privacy is an important thing to consider when putting all of your conversations into a messaging app. With Facebook Messenger’s Vanish Mode, you can make sensitive messages disappear after the recipient has read them. It’s a nice privacy trick.

RAYMOND OGLESBY @RaymondOglesby2
November 30, 2021

Privacy is an important thing to consider when putting all of your conversations into a messaging app. With Facebook Messenger’s Vanish Mode, you can make sensitive messages disappear after the recipient has read them. It’s a nice privacy trick.

Vanish Mode is also available on Instagram and it works exactly the same as Facebook Messenger. The idea is you start Vanish Mode, say what you want to say, then leave Vanish Mode. After your messages have been seen, they disappear.

This is for iPhone, iPad, and Android using Messenger

Dilbert and Job
Copyright Scott Adams, Inc./Distributed by Universal Uclick for UFS

First, open Messenger and start a conversation with someone you are friends with. Refer to the below image:

FB 1
Selecting a friend to start a conversation

Next, while in the conversation view, press down and hold while swiping up from the text box. You will see a little indicator to help you get into Vanish Mode. The tiny dot is barely visible. On the below screenshot, you will notice the top of the screen has changed color. See the below image:

FB 2
Entering Vanish Mode

Now, on your first use of Vanish Mode, a confirmation screen will be displayed. Tap OK to continue. See the following image:

FB 3
Vanish Mode confirmation

Next, in Vanish Mode, the background will be dark. You can now have a conversation like you normally would. Refer to the below image:

FB 4
In Vanish Mode

Now, if you or the recipient takes a screenshot while you are in Vanish Mode, you will be notified. See the below image:

FB 5
Notification either you or the recipient has taken a screenshot

Next, when you are ready for everything to disappear, tap on Turn Off Vanish Mode. You can also do the swipe-up gesture again. See the following image:

FB 6
Exiting Vanish Mode

Note! Messenger retains your Vanish Mode media and texts for up to an hour after they have been deleted. This is in case the recipient files a report for abuse and harassment and Messenger needs the Vanish Mode data to take action.

You can also turn on Vanish Mode via the recipient profile. Scroll down to the Privacy & Support section and toggle Vanish Mode to ON. Refer to the below image:

FB 7
Entering Vanish Mode from recipient profile

Quote For the Day

The reason that Apple is able to create products like the iPad is because we’ve always tried to be at the intersection of technology and the liberal arts.

Steve Jobs

That’s all there is to it. Think of it like walking into a sound-proof room to have a secret conversation. You can enter Vanish Mode for a while and then leave when you are done.

Just click the Tweet icon below. This will launch Twitter where you click its icon to post the Tweet.

Check out TechSavvy.Life for blog posts on smartphones, PCs, and Macs! You may email us at contact@techsavvy.life for comments or questions.

I Would Like to Hear From You

Please feel free to leave a comment. I would love hearing from you. Do you have a computer or smart device tech question? I will do my best to answer your inquiry. Just send an email to contact@techsavvy.life. Please mention the device, app, and version you are using. To help us out, you can send screenshots of your data related to your question.

The author’s Vietnam eBook on the Battle for Tra Bong Vietnam: Events and Aftermath

How to Send a Messenger Video to Facebook

Are you unable to share a Messenger video on your iPhone to social media, like Facebook? This share feature is not available on the smartphone. But it is possible on your desktop or laptop.

This is for any device using Messenger and Facebook

Messenger on iPhone

On your iPhone, open Messenger and find the video you want to share like the example below:

Messenger video
Messenger video

You can click the Up Arrow rectangle box to send the video to certain friends and/or Create a Group. But we want to share the video to Facebook. Following are the steps:

Messenger on Desktop/Laptop

  • Open Messenger or Facebook on your desktop/laptop then select Messenger
  • Move your mouse next to the Up Arrow rectangle box
  • A Reply and More actions will magically appear
  • Click on More
  • Click on Save to Facebook

Your screen will look like the below image:

Saving Messenger video to Facebook
Saving Messenger video to Facebook

Facebook

  • Open Facebook on your Desktop/Laptop
  • Go to Home menu option on Facebook
  • On the left hand side menu, expand Explore (if necessary) and locate Saved
  • Click on Saved and you will see the video as shown below:
Saved video on Facebook
Saved video on Facebook
  • Click on the Share button to share on Facebook

Sometimes the author has blocked a video from being shared. If so, the Share button will not be displayed.

Courtesy Of

This tip is the courtesy of my wife, Dr. Aletha C. Oglesby. You may want to check out her blog on medical topics at Watercress Words-exploring and sharing the HEARTH of health.

I Would Like to Hear from You

Please feel free to leave a comment. I would love hearing from you. Do you have a computer tech question? I will do my best to answer your inquiry. Please mention the app and version that you are using. To help me out, you can send screenshots of your data related to your question.

%d bloggers like this: